Soy Sauce Solution

Image © 2009 Liv Gluten-Free

Image © 2009 Liv Gluten-Free

Most commercial soy sauces are not gluten-free. Soy sauce originated in China and is typically made by fermenting soy beans and grains (wheat) with yeast. Most Chinese restaurants use this type of soy sauce, and that can make our Chinese take-out options very slim.

Tamari, a Japanese soy sauce, is darker, and rich in flavor. Most varieties have no wheat in them and are labeled gluten-free. I usually use San-J Organic Tamari because it is easy for me to find in my local markets.

Try this recipe for General Tso’s Tofu next time you get a craving for carry-out.

email

Category: Blog | Tags: , Comment »


Leave a Reply






Back to top

     

Free Newsletter
  • My new book is out and ready in stores!
  • You can purchase online or in-stores
  • Sign up for my newsletter for the latest updates
  • Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and Pinterest!